We’ve updated our Privacy Policy in accordance with changes to data protection laws. If you’d like to read our Privacy Policy, please click here.

Pontypool RFC retain 30 ‘Invincible’ squad members for Premiership promotion push

Friday 25th May 2018

PONTYPOOL, South Wales, 25th May 2018 – Pontypool RFC is pleased to announce that 30 players from the squad that recorded an unbeaten WRU National Championship campaign this year, will remain at Pontypool Park for the club’s push to earn promotion back to the Principality Premiership next season.

Forwards; Craig Attwell, Lewis Ball, Aaron Coundley, Ollie Drake, Ben Egan, Richard East, Curtis Gregory, Michael Herbert, Jamie Jeune, Rhodri Jones, Brendan Lampitt, Rob Nash, Ben Parry, Craig Price, Ben Sparks, Alex Watkins, Cameron Watson-Boycott and Jordan Williams join the backs division of Clayton Gullis, Matthew Jones, Martin Luckwell, Josh Malson, Kieran Meek, Lewis Prothero, Aaron Quick, Dan Robinson, Jordan Thomas, Marc Thorley, Rhodri Usher and Owen Williams in committing their futures to the club.

"To have retained such a high percentage of our squad not only demonstrates the togetherness and spirit that has been fostered within the group, but also shows just how committed we all are to taking this great club back to the top table of Welsh club rugby," said Pontypool RFC head coach, Leighton Jones.

“We have worked incredibly hard to build an environment based on honesty and commitment over the previous two seasons and we are a completely different outfit to the team that fell just short of achieving promotion back in 2016.

“The squad’s achievement of going unbeaten last season was something special and is a measure of how much we have progressed, but achieving promotion is the sole focus next season and I have every confidence that we have the right personnel in place to achieve this objective.

“We are relishing the challenge and it is a great opportunity to repay the incredible loyalty of our long-standing supporters, who have stood by us throughout every twist and turn over the previous five years.”

Three members from last season's squad have departed the club, with Callum Davies heading to Bargoed RFC, Ryan Harford calling time on an illustrious career and Josh Hurley pursuing other opportunities.

Everybody at Pontypool RFC extends their sincerest thanks to Callum, Ryan and Josh for their contributions to the club and we wish them every success in the future.


Share This Story:


Join us tomorrow at 12pm when we will announce our sixth signing of the summer. 📝 #Pooler150
.@PontypoolRFC is pleased to announce the signing of Matthew Lewis from @Bargoedrfc and @Dragons_Academy for the cl… https://t.co/5jwwP75Pjn
We're not finished yet... Join us at 5pm this evening when the club's fifth signing of the summer will be announced. 📝 #Pooler150
RT @CaldicotRFC: Welcome back to Wales @JamesHussey5 Great to see another Caldicot lad go onto play @PontypoolRFC https://t.co/o65ZWm7gIK
.@PontypoolRFC is pleased to announce the signing of @BvilleRFC centre, James Hussey, for the club’s crucial 2018-2… https://t.co/PFEYBvJuIn
Join us tomorrow at 12pm when we will announce our fourth signing of the summer. 📝 In the meantime, why not take… https://t.co/FvGs2I9QUa
RT @BenJeffreys: Happy Father’s Day to my Dad, Peter. People ask me why @PontypoolRFC means so much to me... It’s quite simply because th…
RT @davidgooch280: @PontypoolRFC @geraint_walsh @PontypriddRFC First class signing Pooler fans in for a treat