We’ve updated our Privacy Policy in accordance with changes to data protection laws. If you’d like to read our Privacy Policy, please click here.

Pooler re-sign 23 players for 2014/2015 season

Tuesday 24th June 2014

Pontypool RFC is pleased to announce that the club has re-signed 23 players for the 2014/2015 season from the squad that finished 4th in last season’s highly successful Swalec Championship campaign.

Joe Blackmore, Mike Burke, Luke Dyckhoff, James Edwards, Elliott Goodman, Clayton Gullis, Josh Guy, Dan Haile, Josh Hurley, Chris Laing, Sam Mills, Ashley Norton, Tom Organ, Ben Parry, Josh Powell, Matthew Prosser, Aaron Quick, Ben Sparks, Matthew Thomas, Ryan Thomas, Marc Thorley, Dan Walker and Jordan Williams will all continue to adorn the famous red, white and black Pooler hoops for the club throughout next season.

Pontypool RFC Director of Rugby, Alun Carter, said: “Having made a strong finish to last season it is important that those players who contributed to this winning environment have committed to Pontypool RFC for the new season. We have re-signed the majority of last season's playing squad and will look to compliment this with some signings during the summer months.”

“It is also exciting to have the quality of Leighton Jones, who made a big impact on the forward play last season, back with us. Together with Stuart Lawrence, an experienced coach and former Pooler player, the team will be in no doubt as to who and what they are representing.”

“Simon Church, our Strength and Conditioning Coach, is already having an impact on those re-signed players who have been busy completing his 'off-season' programme, and everybody cannot wait to get back into training to continue the positive momentum from last season.”

Sharing Carter’s enthusiasm for next season is long serving Pontypool RFC Team Manager, Shaun Rees, who said: “As was the case last season, our priority has been to retain the core squad that has helped the club make great strides in recent years. This is fantastic news for the club and it demonstrates the togetherness that exists at Pontypool RFC.”

“Everybody is eagerly anticipating the beginning of pre-season training and even more so, the beginning of next season. We are all very confident that we can continue to progress further but what is most important is that we will take this journey together, as a loyal team.”

Pontypool RFC can also announce that Kieran Brown, Trevor James and Steve Taylor have departed the club ahead of next season. Brown and James move to Bargoed RFC whereas Taylor has relocated to Bedwas RFC. The club wishes all three well in their future endeavours.

Also departing Pontypool RFC after five loyal seasons is Mike Barber, who will join Clifton RFC in the English National League 2.

Barber has been a tremendous servant to Pontypool RFC and embodies everything that is asked of a Pooler player – loyalty, respect, commitment, determination and a solid team ethic. He has gone above in beyond in his commitment and hard work for the club and everybody at Pontypool RFC wishes Mike Barber every success in his new opportunity at Clifton RFC.

Pre-season training ahead of the 2014/2015 commences tonight at Pontypool Park. The club will also be making a series of exciting announcements in the run up to next season.

You can keep up to date with all of these developments via the official Pontypool RFC website as well as the club’s Twitter or Facebook feeds!


Share This Story: