We’ve updated our Privacy Policy in accordance with changes to data protection laws. If you’d like to read our Privacy Policy, please click here.

Pontypool RFC retain 24 members of the playing squad from the 2019-2020 season

Monday 16th August 2021

Pontypool RFC is pleased to announce that 24 players from the squad that extended the club's exceptional unbeaten run in the WRU Specsavers National Championship to 63 games and finished the abbreviated 2019-2020 season top of the division, will remain at Pontypool Park ahead of next season.

Forwards; Lewis Ball, Sam Cochrane, Aaron Coundley, Luke Fleming-Jones, Curtis Gregory, Michael Herbert, Corey Hewlett, Darren Hughes, Ieuan Jones, Scott Matthews, Craig Price, Adam Stratton, Alex Watkins and Jordan Williams join the backs division of Marcus Jones, Owain Leonard, Lloyd Lewis, Pat Lewis, Joel Mahoney, Kieran Meek, Amose Nove, Aaron Quick, Duan Thomas and Geraint Walsh in committing their futures to the club.

"To have retained such a high percentage of our squad in such uncertain times is a real boost for the club,” said Pontypool RFC head coach, Leighton Jones. “It was disappointing how the last season ended, but we have dusted ourselves down as a club and have started building for the future.

"To extend our winning league run last season was particularly satisfying, given the heightened level of competition that now exists in the Championship and I'm glad this group of players will remain with us.

"Rugby and sport in general does face some uncertainties at present, but we have been committed to preparing as best we can for when we are able to fully return. Our ultimate aim is still to achieve promotion to the Premiership and I think with the work we have done since the pandemic first struck, we are giving ourselves the best possible chance.”

Sixteen members from last season's squad have departed the club, with Craig Attwell, Lewis Barnett, Scott Evans, Clayton Gullis, Danny Hodge, Brendan Lampitt, Matthew Lewis, Martin Luckwell, Jake Morgan, Ceri Morris, Rob Nash, Richard Powell, Dan Robinson, Ben Sparks, Zenon Szwagrzak and Rhodri Usher all heading for pastures new.

Everybody at Pontypool RFC extends their sincerest thanks to Craig, Lewis, Scott, Clayton, Danny, Brendan, Matthew, Martin, Jake, Ceri, Rob, Dan, Richard, Ben, Zenon and Rhodri for their contributions to the club and we wish them every success in the future.


Share This Story: