We’ve updated our Privacy Policy in accordance with changes to data protection laws. If you’d like to read our Privacy Policy, please click here.

Club awarded Freedom of Torfaen

Tuesday 13th June 2023

Pontypool has been awarded the Freedom of Torfaen following a memorable double-winning season.

Pooler completed a remarkable unbeaten campaign as they collected both the WRU Admiral National Championship title and WRU Championship Cup.

They dropped just one point in the entire season, which ended in a long-awaited promotion to the Indigo Premiership.

The season may be over but the club continues to be honoured, this time recognising the club's "importance to the borough" of Torfaen.

Executive chairman Peter Jeffreys and head coach Leighton Jones represented the club at the Torfaen Civic Centre, in Pontypool, where the full council unanimously agreed to bestow the honour to Pontypool RFC.

Councillor Anthony Hunt, a season ticket holder at Pontypool RFC, congratulated both Jones and Jeffreys.

“I would like to thank you for your hard work," he said.

"To just about win every game for six years is a huge achievement, to keep that high level up despite pandemics, play offs that we won’t mention, and other things getting in the way of promotion.

“Peter, I remember before I was a councillor, having to do whip-rounds to pay players.

"You’ve made a huge contribution to the club and professionalised it on and off the pitch.

"I suggest setting up a proper ceremony, perhaps at the Park, in recognition of the freedom of the borough and we have to present you with a scroll you will perhaps be able to hang on a wall.

"Conferring the freedom of the borough goes back to ancient times. There are now no particular special rights but it is a means of recognition given to individuals and collections of individuals and a reflection of the high esteem they are held in by the council and the borough.

“Pontypool RFC are special to the borough and recognised around the rugby world and we should be proud of them.”


Share This Story: